JKUAT and KU Blocked From Admitting Students in TZ

Subscribe to our newsletter
(Last Updated On: July 26, 2017)

Two Kenyan universities operating campuses in Tanzania are among 19 higher learning institutions have been blocked from admitting students in September.

Tanzania Commission for Universities

Kenyatta University and Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology failed the standards test, the Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) said on Wednesday.

The two universities will now have to comply with the standards before being allowed to start admitting students again.

The two universities are among 19 institutions in Uganda, Tanzania and Kenya operating in Tanzania that have been affected by the regulator’s decision.

TCU Executive Secretary Eleuther Mwageni said an audit conducted in September and October 2016 revealed failure by the universities to observe standards and regulations guiding the sector.

The Tanzania Commission for Universities (TCU) istarted screening all undergraduate research works submitted in various institutions in a bid to curb cheating and duplication.

Original article was in Daily Nation.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to MailChimp ( more information )
Join over 3.000 visitors who are receiving our newsletter and staying in the know on our top articles, latest events and upcoming activities!Click here and join the community today.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.