The Kenya Radio Awards 2016 Award Night is slated for 21st December, 2016, at The Kenya National Theatre. The invite only event aims at celebrating Radio excellence in Kenya by awarding individuals who entertain and inform us every day and night.

The Radio Awards panel will nominate outstanding Radio talent based on;

  • Creativity –Innovation and originality, brand new ideas.
  • Presentation –How a show is presented, how smoothly the show runs.
  • Value – Does the show or station achieve what it should?
  • Production – The technical side of how the show is produced, considering preparation, appropriate use of music and sound effects, as well as overall quality.

A couple of Universities got nominations in the  Campus Radio Station of the Year category including;

  • Egerton Radio- Egerton University   CS1
  • KU 99.9FM- Kenyatta University      CS2
  • ECN Radio- KIMC                            CS3
  • USIU Radio- USIU-Africa                  CS4
  • Shine FM- Daystar University           CS5

Inside Shine FM, Daystar University’s Number One Radio Station!

The Mizuqa Entertainment Limited organized event creates a platform for recognizing outstanding Radio stations that are committed to using Radio to inform and entertain Kenyans, help nurture new talents in Radio and also appreciate those who have overseen the development of Radio in Kenya, unite the Radio fraternity in Kenya and give listeners a chance to appreciate the people who have been having sleepless nights entertaining and informing them.

To vote for your favorite radio presenters, news anchors, reporters, deejays, creatives, producers among others; simply SMS the nominee CODE to 40099 using a Safaricom Line. For example to vote for say USIU Radio as Campus Radio Station of the Year, send an SMS with the code CS4 to 40099 and you will receive a message confirming your vote.