The 4th annual OLX SOMA Awards 2016 theme this year is “Transforming Lives”. This Initiative’s main aim is usually geared towards promoting and appreciating individuals and groups of individuals who employ social media to bring positive change.

The event will be held on 23rd September, 2016 at the Safari Park Hotel. On the category, Educational Institution there are two sections: Most Social Learning Institution and Most Influential Student Leader Award.

Five universities have been nominated for the Most Social Learning Institution: Daystar University, Kenyatta University, Moi University, University of Nairobi and Zetech University. These universities not only provide tertiary education, but also positively impact the lives of their esteemed students.

Daystar University has seen the adoption of Smartphone degrees, making education easily accessible and more convenient. Kenyatta University with a postmodern library has definitely transformed the varsity students. You can access information resources on social media at the library capabilities. The rest of the universities have been nominated for their practical application of online services that has made the varsities grow and develop.

On the Most Influential Student Leader Award:

Victoria N Mbugua of USIU: Studying Bachelor of Science has been the students’ servant, having served more than twice in Students politics. She is one iron lady who mediates between the administration and her fellow students.

Babu Owino representing UoN: This man Babu Owino, moving student politics to new levels and going a notch higher to national politics. His has many fans and has achieved numerous students’ concerns. He always has the students’ interest at heart.

Anyungu Wanyungu from JKUAT: Who studies telecommunications engineering and chairs the student body, in his term, he has brought about various changes to the students.

Were Were representing Kenyatta University: Students by working towards making them comfortable in its pursuit of academic excellence and social welfare.

Zetech University has Teddy Aboka: President of the Zetech University body. 

Get to know your students leaders, their accomplishments have to be celebrated. Vote for your favourite here. Voting ends on 21st September.