During this year’s elections, various well-known figures battled it out with long-time politicians for parliamentary seats. Here are a few you may be familiar with:

  • Jaguar

    Image may contain: 5 people, people standing

Popular musician Jaguar (full name Charles Njagua Kanyi) behind hits like ‘Kipepeo’ and ‘Kigeugeu’ won the Starehe MP seat as a Jubilee candidate which well-known activist Boniface Mwangi of Ukweli Party and Businessman Steve Mbogo of ODM were also eyeing. He replaces former MP Maina Kamanda who was the previous Starehe MP. Boniface Mwangi has conceded defeat to Njagua who won. “The people of Starehe have spoken and l respect their decision,” Mwangi posted on his Facebook page, l am humbled by the love and support l got from all of you.”

  • KJ

    Image may contain: 4 people, people smiling, people standing and shoes

Looks like third time was the charm for KJ who lost the Dagoretti South MP seat to Beth Mugo in 2007 and to Dennis Waweru in 2013. Redykulass actor and comedian John Kiarie won the Dagoretti South MP seat as a Jubilee candidate over Dennis Waweru, the former MP who decided to vie independently after KJ won over him in the primaries too.

  • Mohamed Ali

Well-known investigative journalist Mohamed Ali, who some refer to as Jicho Pevu, has won the Nyali parliamentary seat over Mombasa governor Hassan Joho’s cousin, Said Abdhalla who has since conceded defeat. Ali ran for the seat as an independent candidate since he lost to Said Abdhalla in the ODM party primaries. Said congratulated Ali on the win saying that he has “already moved on.” A lot is expected from Moha seeing as he has in the past been vocal about his being displeased with the government.

Image may contain: 5 people, people smiling, people standing

  • Babu Owino

Former SONU leader Paul Ongili (popularly known as Babu Owino) won the Embakasi East seat with a 56.2% win over his rivals, Jubilee’s Francis Mureithi & Maendeleo Chap Chap’s Mary Wangari. Babu Owino emerged as the winner of the race between him and Mureithi.

TIBIM! SONU Leader, Babu Owino Makes it Into The Big Leagues

“We did it with a total of 39,905 votes (52.6%). Thanks to God, my dear wife and the whole of Embakasi East fraternity for this opportunity.”, he tweeted. Mary Wangari was third with 1,424.

Image may contain: 5 people, outdoor

  • Sakaja

    Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling

As of Wednesday morning, in the senator race, Nominated MP Johnson Sakaja of Jubilee led the pack with 750,355 votes against ODM’s Edwin Sifuna with 628,036 votes. The two are battling it out for the senatorial seat in Nairobi previously occupied by Mike ‘Sonko’ Mbuvi.