Zetech University last week held their elections to elect the new student council. Following an intense process headed by the Student Affairs department, a well able electoral team presided over the election which is a welcome development for learners, eager to have a team of student leaders.

During the election that followed the Electoral College system, Eugene Odhiambo and his running mate Faith Khakasa executed a successful campaign that led to a victory in the hotly contested election. The Bachelor of Purchasing and Supply Chain Management student beat his competitor Samuel Adama to win the coveted ZUSA Chairperson post.

Commenting on the election, Elizabeth Muhia, Dean of Student Affairs said,

“The voting process went on smoothly at the main campus auditorium and at Pioneer campus, on Thursday, 8th March, from 9:00am to 6:00pm. The tallying of the votes was done by the electoral body under tight security and the results announced the same night, amid cheers and excitement.”

The new Zetech University Student Council

The successful candidates who were elected are as follows:

· Eugene Odhiambo- Chairperson

· Faith Khakasa- Vice Chairperson

· Kelvin Kirimi- Secretary General

· Ruth mwende- Finance Secretary

· Nicholas Mutwiri-, Academic Affairs Secretary

· Francis Mutinda-, Sports and Entertainment Secretary

· Yasmin Mohammad- Social Welfare Secretary

The staff team leading the process included Elizabeth Muhia, as the Chief Returning Officer, Shadrack Ngao, Presiding Officer (TRC), MarkHenry Kariuki, Presiding Officer (Town) Albert Owondo and Gitonga Ruchiami as Chief Observers while a team of students served as electoral clerks.

Courtesy of Zetech.ac.ke.